Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time

It’s about noon now and I’m stuck in the sand somewhere in Punta Canejo. I’ve been stuck here since last night after arriving in the dark. It all started when I missed my exit for Punta Conejo. I actually ended up in La Paz! However, I was not ready for my adventure to end so I turned around and continued looking for Canejo. I was running low on time as it was about 6:30 and I was watching the sun begin to set behind the mountains. I was rushing to find a destination before it was dark and I was forced to sleep on the side of the road somewhere. If you’ve ever been to Baja, you know driving at night is something you try to avoid so it was frustrating that according to the map, I had passed my turn off about 4 times! In due time, however, I finally found my turnoff. The sign was rusted and covered in stickers so that explains why I missed it so many times and it was a small dirt road about a lane and a half wide. It also looked just like private property and even had a no trespassing sign at one point so I wasn’t keen on taking that road until I was sure it was the right one.

IMG_1013-0

The Sun was only shining over the horizon at this point as I drove the last half hour of daylight towards the Pacific. The road was pretty smooth but definitely not often traveled. Lots of turns and some fun burms to ride up on in the corners.

I began approaching a small fishing village and a small lighthouse. Not being able to see much, I drove just about 100 yards to the side, past the light house where I thought would be a good place to camp for the night. Well it turns out Mother Nature thought it was a pretty good spot for me too camp too and I’ve been stuck in the sand ever since. I tried to get out for about 3 hours using every method I know and finally said screw it.

IMG_1040

 I tried again to get myself out this morning in the light for about an hour but finally accepted my fate. It just comes to show you that being cheap and buying the 4cylinder/2wheel drive Jeep is where I went wrong. It does 90% of what I put her through but if you know me, you know that I prefer to live in that 10% range. So I’m kicking back now listening to Buena Vista Social Club and waiting for someone who decided to buy a 4×4 vehicle to drive by and give me a hand.

Now to some people, this might sound like a pretty crappy predicament. But for myself, I’m pretty happy. I’m right next to the beach, the water is warm, I’ve got great music, there’s tons of drift wood for a nice fire, and I’ve got plenty of food and water to last me a few days. So I’m just enjoying the moment of down time and relaxing and catching up on some reading.
Now I’ve definitely taken a step back and analyzed what I’ve just done to myself. While I would agree with many of you that I’m probably taking bigger chances than necessary, I’m still siding with the fact that this is suppose to be an adventure and nothing is an adventure until something goes wrong. So I’ve began to keep that same positive outlook on life as I did in the hospital and began smiling and enjoying my quiet time.
I’ve also began constructing a house around my jeep in the fair to good chance that nobody finds me and I’m forced to survive off the land.

IMG_1061 IMG_1072 IMG_1076

I’ll post more as more arises… Should be another day or two…

1 Comment

Leave a comment